SCHOOL BOARD MEETING March 18, 2019

The Pelican Rapids Board of Education held a regular meeting on March 18, 2019 in the board room at the high school at 6:30 p.m. Board members present: Michael Forsgren, Jon Karger, Anne Peterson, Brittany Dokken, Greg Larson, Brenda Olson. Board members absent: None. Others present: Superintendent Randi Anderson, Brian Korf, Dr. Ed Richardson, Derrick Nelson, Logan Petznick, Grace Peterson, Rudy Martinez, Barb Ripley, Cary Haugrud, Lou Hoglund, Trevor Steeves, Kathryn Anderson, Kate Martinez, Tonya Johnson, Karli Kirkwood, Jill Roisum, Angie Motz, Lauren Siebels, Pam Eiden, Jess Sjostrom, Heidi Isaman, Zane Brosowske, Hayden Christenson, Anna Motz.

The meeting was called to order by Jon Karger.

Greg Larson moved to approve the agenda with the addition of the following item:

Consent agenda – Approve senior privileges

The motion was seconded by Michael Forsgren and carried.

Kathryn Anderson introduced Zane Brosowske who reported to the board about the Midwest Emmy Award nominations.

Michael Forsgren moved to approve the consent agenda consisting of the following items:

Approve board minutes of the meeting on February 11, 2019

Financial claims - February bills

Treasurer's Report

Accept donations:

To Class of 79 Scholarship – Wesley Hagen \$100

To Soccer - The Barn at Dunvilla \$300

Personnel:

Accept the resignation of Gary Motz as high school custodian effective 3/1/19

Accept the resignation of Shawn Gravalin as JH basketball coach and JH softball coach Hire Chelsea VanRaden as JH softball coach

Approve a medical leave for Andrea Banton from approximately April 16, 2019 to May 23, 2019

Approve senior privileges as presented

The motion was seconded by Greg Larson and carried with Brittany Dokken abstaining from the vote.

Anne Peterson moved to approve the 2019-20 Master Calendar. The motion was seconded by Brittany Dokken and carried.

Michael Forsgren moved to approve the Achievement and Integration Budget. The motion was seconded by Brenda Olson and carried.

Greg Larson moved to approve Compliance Paperwork-Office of Indian Education. The motion was seconded by Anne Peterson and carried.

Anne Peterson moved to approve the 1st reading of the following policies:

- 519 Interviews of Students by Outside Agencies
- 520 Student Surveys
- 526 Hazing Prohibition
- 529 Staff Notification of Violent Behavior by Students
- 530 Immunization Requirements
- 532 Use of Peace Officers and Crisis Teams to Remove Students with IEPs from School Grounds

The motion was seconded by Greg Larson and carried.

Greg Larson moved to approve the 1st and 2nd readings of the following policies:

- 518 DNR-DNI Orders
- 521 Student Disability Nondiscrimination
- 522 Student Sex Nondiscrimination
- 523 Policies Incorporated by Reference
- 524 Internet Acceptable Use and Safety Policy
- 525 Violence Prevention [Applicable to Students and Staff]
- 527 Student use and Parking of motor Vehicles; Patrols, Inspections, and Searches
- 528 Student, Parental, Family, and Marital Status Nondiscrimination
- 531 The Pledge of Allegiance
- 533 Wellness

The motion was seconded by Anne Peterson and carried.

Anne Peterson moved to approve the 2nd reading of the following policies:

- 501 School Weapons
- 506 Student Discipline
- 509 Enrollment of Nonresident Students
- 513 Student Promotion, Retention, and Program Design
- 516 Student Medication

The meeting was adjourned at 7:26 pm.

The motion was seconded by Brenda Olson and carried.

Jon Karger moved to approve that Michael Forsgren and Greg Larson are members of the Transportation Committee. The motion was seconded by Greg Larson and carried.

The Finance Committee meeting was set for April 1st at 5:30 pm

Jon Karger, Chair	Anne Peterson, Clerk	